Professor Yang winner of Joyce Award for Undergraduate Teaching

Author: Marie Blakey

Xiaoshan Yang

Xiaoshan Yang is the winner of the prestigious Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C. Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching for 2011. This award was established in 2007 to recognize faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. More than 160 students and faculty submitted nominations for this year’s awards, and an interdisciplinary faculty committee made the selection.

In receiving this award Professor Yang who teaches Chinese literature and other courses in University Seminars, is being recognized for an outstanding career of stellar undergraduate teaching.

In addition to the cash prize that accompanies this award,the recipient will be individually honored at the graduation ceremony on May 22, 2011. Xiaoshan Yang joins the company of Lionel Jensen (2010), Noriko Hanabusa (2009) and Sylvia Lin (2009) who were past recipients of the prestiguos award.




Lionel Jensen

Noriko Hanabusa       Sylvia Lin