Faculty and Staff

Department Chair: Yongping Zhu 

  • Associate Professor and Chairperson
  • Chinese Language Coordinator
  • Office:(574)631-8873 
  • yzhu8@nd.edu                   

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Xiaoshan Yang

  • Drop-in Advising Hours: Mondays, 1:00-3:00pm; Thursdays, 11:40-1:40pm
  • Decio 269
  • Appointments:  631-3840
  • xyang@nd.edu


Chinese Program Faculty

 

Dongdong Fu

  • Visiting Scholar

 

Wenxia Gao

  • Visiting Scholar

 

Yanfei Wang

  • Visiting Scholar

 

Zhe Zhang

  • Visiting Scholar

 

Liangyan Ge, Literature

  • Professor
  • Interests: Late Imperial Chinese Literature
  • Office:  268 Decio Hall, 631-6687
  • Liangyan.Ge.1@nd.edu

 

Robert Gimello

  • Research Professor, Theology & EALC
  • Interests: Buddhism
  • Office:  331 Malloy Hall, 631-5366
  • gimello.1@nd.edu

 

Michel Hockx, Literature and Culture

  • Professor, Chinese Literature
  • Director, Liu Institute for Asia and Asian Studies
  • Interests: Modern Chinese literature and language, print culture, Internet culture, censorship, digital humanities, poetry and poetics
  • Office: 2150 Nanovic Jenkins Halls
  • mhockx@nd.edu
 

Lionel Jensen, History and Religion

  • Associate Professor, EALC and History
  • Interests: Chinese Intellectual History
  • Office: 266 Decio Hall, 631-7699
  • jensen.21@nd.edu
 
Nini Li, Language
  • Visiting Assistant Professional Specialist
  • Office: 130B Decio Hall, 631-5177
  • nli3@nd.edu

 

Fang Liu, Language

  • Visiting Assistant Professional Specialist
  • Office: 130C Decio Hall, 631-7270
  • fliu5@nd.edu

 

Congcong Ma, Language

 

Wei Wang, Language (on leave)

 

Xiaoshan Yang, Literature

  • Associate Professor
  • Director of Undergraduate Studies
  • Interests: Chinese Literature
  • Office: 269 Decio Hall, 631-3840
  • yang.31@nd.edu

 

Weibing Ye, Chinese Language Program Coordinator

  • Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Pedagogy
  • Office 256 Decio Hall, 631-6513
  • Weibing.Ye.10@nd.edu

 

Chengxu Yin, Language

  • Associate Teaching Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Instruction
  • Office: 254 Decio Hall, 631-4576
  • yin.9@nd.edu

 

Yongping Zhu, Chairperson

  • Associate Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Instruction
  • Office: 205 O'Shaughnessy Hall, 631-8873
  • yzhu8@nd.edu

Japanese Program Faculty

 

Michael Brownstein, Literature

  • Associate Professor
  • Interests: Japanese Literature
  • Office: 262 Decio Hall, 631-7769
  • brownstein.1@nd.edu

 

Naoki Fuse, Language

  • Visiting Assistant Professional Specialist
  • Office: 130A Decio Hall, 631-2765
  • nfuse@nd.edu

 

Noriko Hanabusa, Language

  • Professor of the Practice
  • Interests: Japanese Language Instruction
  • Office: 272 Decio Hall, 631-6559
  • hanabusa.1@nd.edu

 

David Humphrey, Literature

  • Visiting Assistant Professor
  • Office: 251A Decio Hall, 631-1093
  • dhumphr1@nd.edu

 

Ryosuke Sano, Language

  • Assistant Professional Specialist
  • Office: 251B Decio Hall, 631-6281
  • rsano@nd.edu

Korean Program Faculty

 

Hana Kang, Language

  • Associate Professional Specialist/Associate Professor of the Practice
  • Office: 263 Decio, 631-6509
  • Hana.kang@nd.edu

 

Yeonhee Yoon, Korean Language Program Coordinator

  • Professor of the Practice
  • Interests: Sociolinguistics, Pragmatics, Korean Popular Culture, Korean Pedagogy
  • Office:  267 Decio Hall, 631-3694
  • yyoon3@nd.edu

Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

 

Han-Wen Hsu, Chinese Language

Mamiko Tokuda, japanese Language


Library Faculty

 

Hye-jin Juhn

  • East Asian Studies Subject Librarian
  • 1201D Hesburgh Library, 631-6121
  • hjuhn@nd.edu

Concurrent Faculty

 

Tarryn Chun

  • tchun@nd.edu

 

Jane Doering

 

Robert Gimello

 

Dian Murray

  • Professor Emeritus

Administrative Support

Rebecca Brill, Administrative Assistant

  • 205 O'Shaughnessy Hall
  • Notre Dame, IN 46556
  • 574-631-8873
  • rbrill@nd.edu