Faculty and Staff

Department Chair: Yongping Zhu (on leave AY 2016-17)

  • Associate Professor and Chairperson
  • Chinese Language Coordinator
  • Office:(574)631-8873 
  • yzhu8@nd.edu                   

Acting Chair: Michael Brownstein (AY 2016-17)

  • Associate Professor
  • Interests: Japanese Literature
  • Office: 262 Decio Hall, 631-7769
  • brownstein.1@nd.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Xiaoshan Yang

  • Drop-in Advising Hours: Tuesdays, 1:45-3:20pm & Thursdays, 1:00-3:20pm
  • Decio 269
  • Appointments:  631-3840
  • xyang@nd.edu


Chinese Program Faculty

Wenhan Duan, Language

  • Visiting Professional Specialist
  • Office:  TBA
  • wduan@nd.edu

 

Liangyan Ge, Literature

Ruixue Ge

  • Visiting Scholar

Robert Gimello

  • Research Professor, Theology & EALC
  • Interests: Buddhism
  • Office:  331 Malloy Hall, 631-5366
  • gimello.1@nd.edu

 

Michel Hockx, Literature and Culture

 

Lionel Jensen, History and Religion

  • Associate Professor, EALC and History
  • Interests: Chinese Intellectual History
  • Office: 266 Decio Hall, 631-7699
  • jensen.21@nd.edu
 
 
Nini Li, Language
  • Visiting Professional Specialist
  • Office: TBA

 

Rui Liu, Language
  • Visiting Professional Specialist
  • Office: TBA

 

Congcong Ma, Language

 

Wei Wang, Language (on leave)

 

Xiaoshan Yang Literature

  • Associate Professor
  • Director of Undergraduate Studies
  • Interests: Chinese Literature
  • Office: 269 Decio Hall, 631-3840
  • yang.31@nd.edu

 

Weibing Ye, Chinese Language Program Coordinator

  • Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Pedagogy
  • Office 256 Decio, 631-6513
  • Weibing.Ye.10@nd.edu

 

Chengxu Yin, Language

  • Associate Teaching Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Instruction
  • Office: 254 Decio Hall, 631-4576
  • yin.9@nd.edu

Zhagnuo Peng

  • Visiting Scholar

Yongping Zhu, Chairperson (on leave)

  • Associate Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Instruction
  • Office: 205 O'Shaughnessy Hall, 631-8873
  • yzhu8@nd.edu

Japanese Program Faculty

 

Michael Brownstein, Literature

  • Associate Professor
  • Interests: Japanese Literature
  • Office: 262 Decio Hall, 631-7769
  • brownstein.1@nd.edu

 

Noriko Hanabusa, Language

  • Professional Specialist/Professor of the Practice
  • Interests: Japanese Language Instruction
  • Office: 272 Decio Hall, 631-6559
  • hanabusa.1@nd.edu

 

David Humphrey, Liiterature

 

Yumi Kotera, Language

 

Sayuri OgiuchLanguage

 


Korean Program Faculty

Hana Kang, Language

  • Associate Professional Specialist/Associate Professor of the Practice
  • Office: 263 Decio, 631-6509
  • Hana.kang@nd.edu

 

Yeonhee Yoon, Korean Language Program Coordinator

  • Associate Professional Specialist/Associate Professor of the Practice
  • Interests:Korean Linguistics and Korean Pedagogy
  • Office:  267 Decio Hall, 631-3694
  • yyoon3@nd.edu

Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

Heemang Kim Korean Language        

Akiyo Horiguchi, Japanese Language        

Yen-Chen Huang, Chinese Language        


Library Faculty

Hye-jin Juhn

  • East Asian Studies Subject Librarian
  • 1201D Hesburgh Library, 631-6121
  • hjuhn@nd.edu

Concurrent Faculty

 

Jane Doering

 

Robert Gimello

 

Dian Murray

  • Professor Emeritus

Administrative Support

Rebecca Brill, Administrative Assistant

  • 205 O'Shaughnessy Hall
  • Notre Dame, IN 46556
  • 574-631-8873
  • rbrill@nd.edu