Faculty and Staff

Welcome to the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures!

Below is our department staff, Chinese Program FacultyJapanese Program FacultyKorean Program FacultyForeign Teaching AssistantsLibrary FacultyConcurrent Faculty

Department Staff

Department Chair: Yongping Zhu 

  • Associate Professor and Chairperson
  • Chinese Language Coordinator
  • Office:(574)631-8873 
  • yzhu8@nd.edu                   

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Xiaoshan Yang

  • Drop-in Advising Hours: Mondays, 1:00–3:00pm, Thursdays, 11:40–1:40pm
  • Decio 269
  • Appointments:  631-3840
  • xyang@nd.edu

Administrative Support

Rebecca McDaniel, Administrative Assistant

  • 205 O'Shaughnessy Hall
  • Notre Dame, IN 46556
  • 574-631-8873
  • rbrill@nd.edu


Chinese Program Faculty

Liangyan Ge, Literature

  • Professor
  • Interests: Late Imperial Chinese Literature
  • Office:  268 Decio Hall, 631-6687
  • Liangyan.Ge.1@nd.edu

Michel Hockx, Literature and Culture

  • Professor, Chinese Literature
  • Director, Liu Institute for Asia and Asian Studies
  • Interests: Modern Chinese literature and language, print culture, Internet culture, censorship, digital humanities, poetry and poetics
  • Office: 2150 Nanovic Jenkins Halls
  • mhockx@nd.edu

Lionel Jensen, History and Religion

  • Associate Professor, EALC and History
  • Interests: Chinese Intellectual History
  • Office: 266 Decio Hall, 631-7699
  • jensen.21@nd.edu

Congcong Ma, Language

  • Assistant Professional Specialist, Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Office: 259 Decio Hall, 631-7260
  • Congcong.Ma.25@nd.edu

Wei Wang, Language 

Xiaoshan Yang, Literature

  • Associate Professor
  • Director of Undergraduate Studies
  • Interests: Chinese Literature
  • Office: 269 Decio Hall, 631-3840
  • yang.31@nd.edu

Weibing Ye, Chinese Language Program Coordinator

  • Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Pedagogy
  • Office 256 Decio Hall, 631-6513
  • Weibing.Ye.10@nd.edu

Chengxu Yin, Language

  • Associate Teaching Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Instruction
  • Office: 254 Decio Hall, 631-4576
  • yin.9@nd.edu

Yongping Zhu, Chairperson

  • Associate Professor
  • Interests: Chinese Language Instruction
  • Office: 205 O'Shaughnessy Hall, 631-8873
  • yzhu8@nd.edu

Xian Wang, Literature

  • Assistant Professor
  • Office: 264 Decio Hall, 631-6951
  • xwang48@nd.edu

Qi Wang, Language

  • Visiting Assistant Professional Specialist
  • Office: 435 Decio Hall
  • qwang23@nd.edu

Japanese Program Faculty

Michael Brownstein, Literature 

  • Associate Professor
  • Interests: Japanese Literature
  • Office: 262 Decio Hall, 631-7769
  • brownstein.1@nd.edu

Naoki Fuse, Language

  • Visiting Assistant Professional Specialist
  • Office: 130A Decio Hall, 631-2765
  • nfuse@nd.edu

Noriko Hanabusa, Language

  • Professor of the Practice
  • Interests: Japanese Language Instruction
  • Office: 272 Decio Hall, 631-6559
  • hanabusa.1@nd.edu

Sayako Uehara, Language

  • Assistant Professional Specialist
  • Office: 273 Decio Hall
  • suehara@nd.edu

Marianne Tarcov, Literature

  • Visiting Associate Professional Specialist
  • Office: 433 Decio Hall
  • mtarcov@nd.edu

Korean Program Faculty

Hana Kang, Language

  • Associate Professional Specialist/Associate Professor of the Practice
  • Office: 263 Decio, 631-6509
  • Hana.kang@nd.edu

Yeonhee Yoon, Korean Language Program Coordinator

  • Professor of the Practice
  • Interests: Sociolinguistics, Pragmatics, Korean Popular Culture, Korean Pedagogy
  • Office:  267 Decio Hall, 631-3694
  • yyoon3@nd.edu

Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

Weiwei Cang, Chinese Language

  • FLTA

Takumi Kobayashi, Japanese Language

  • FLTA

Sungsil Kim, Korean Language

  • FLTA

Library Faculty

Hye-jin Juhn

  • East Asian Studies Subject Librarian
  • 201A Hesburgh Library, 631-6121
  • hjuhn@nd.edu

Concurrent Faculty

Tarryn Chun

Jane Doering

Robert Gimello

Dian Murray

  • Professor Emeritus